Sunday August 14th

I thought I was not going to be able to walk on Saturday or Sunday after Friday. To my surprise I was not a tad sore, in fact the little bit of soreness I did have was completely gone Sunday.

 
 

I attribute my lack of soreness to a friends pool party on Saturday. We played water volleyball for at least 2-3 hours I think. It required keeping my legs moving and being in the water supplied some massage.

 
 

Sunday night, I am thinking ok, I am feeling pretty good, tonight I run and I had expectations of a good run. But, but I did also take into consideration the fact it was hotter this night and was much more humid than any of the other nights I had run, so I kept my expectation in check with the hope of a better run.

 
 

My run was 17 seconds slower than my best run, I was slightly disappointed because I felt I was in better shape and as a reward for this enhanced conditioning I would run faster than my slower time!

 
 

The good was I had additional warm-up while waiting for the track to clear. My legs did not feel as though they were being strained with every step nor did my heart feel like it was going to bounce out my backside and my lungs did not wince with every breath.

 
 

After my first 4 laps and my slightly disappointing time, I decided I wanted to beat up on myself a bit. My next stage of exercise would be to walk one lap, run one lap or a total of 4 runs and 4 walks.

 
 

I realized I might be under pacing myself on my mile run, so I decided I would run at a good pace, a faster pace, a sprint maybe for as far as I could keep it up and no further than 1/2 lap and then wind it down to a pace I could keep for the rest of the lap.

 
 

Using this method, my next two run laps were 18 and 25 seconds faster than my average for my mile. The next two laps I took at pace and they were equal to my mile laps. Wildly, I am glad I took the pace approach for the final two laps because my legs really, really, really were tired.

 
 

I am working up to running two miles now. I had expectations my mile would be faster by now with all the hard work I have put in. As I thought about his, maybe it is and I just did not realize it. Before I started running I did put in a lot of base training. I did the bleachers, ran one lappers and then jumped to the mile. If I had started just trying to run the mile, I may have seen the progress – who knows.

 
 

How hot was it: Well, hot and humid it was. I sweat allot regardless, especially when exercising so hot and humid just makes it worse. It is no problem to drench my shirt, but last night I was completely drenched from head to toe. So much so even when I picked up my sweats this morning they were still very wet.

Published by

ChristDisciple

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

