A Dear Friend

Between the age of 13 and 18, I was exposed to the Bible and going to church primarily via a friend I met in the late 8th grade. We became very good friends in 9th grade and after high school lived near each other and as roommates for about a year while in college.

 
 

My friend grew up catholic and very devout. He went to church; read the Bible and prayed. In fact, one weekend, I and some other friends were driving to a high school event and we were reading the Bible as we drove.

 
 

This impact of the Bible was the catalyst which led me to wanting me to know more. And my friend was a good strong character which also presented to me the strength of his belief. During our year as a roommate, I started attending church on a regular basis. And on my birthday of 1981, he presented me with my very first Bible ever, it was a hard cover NIV.

 
 

From the time I was approximately 18 or 19 until I was in my mid-forties, I never took a solid look at the Bible, read the Bible, or went to Church.

 

My point in revealing my history with the Bible, church and friends is because many folks grow up into it, they just believe, but I did not. This is the story of how I became a believer.

 

Leland Bartlett

Published by

ChristDisciple

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

