Philippians 2:12–19

 
 

12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

14 Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain. 17 Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. 18 Likewise you also should be glad and rejoice with me. The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Wheaton: Standard Bible Society, 2016), Php 2:12–18.

 
 

I have often heard people quote, even to me, Philippians 2:14 “Do all things without grumbling or disputing” This is often when they, the person quoting it to me has complained about having to do something they did not want to do. They complain, walk away, remember this quote and then return with an apology and quote it. I am always forgiving and am thankful, they were gracious enough return and apologize while reminding me of this quote. However, after they have done this, it seems they continue their work with the complaint in their heart. I’ve even heard them complain about their work afterwords – to the point of how the company/individuals/me don’t appreciate what they do for “this place.”

So, Philippians 2:14 is not a command, it’s not a rule, it seems it would be more of an attitude. Remember God looks at your heart, not at your acts. So even if you do the task as requested and don’t initially complain about it, but under your breath, in your head, or do the task halfheartedly, they, I don’t believe are fulfilling what verse Philippians 2:14 is requesting. I believe to do your work without grumbling or disputing, one has to be also humble enough not to put the value on themselves as being unworthy of doing such “menial’ work. Even Jesus washed the feet of his disciples, he conducted his life more like a homeless person than a King of Kings – think of this the next time you feel someone is not appreciating your worth and asking you to do something you might feel is less than you.

 
 

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

