Job Continues: My Life Has No Hope

Job responds to Eliphaz in chapter 6. It is my take his first response is a justification of his right to respond. He states in verse 6:5 “A wild donkey does not bray when it has grass to east; an ox is quiet when it has feed.” He also has self-pity and prays for his destruction: verse 6:9 “How I wish God would crush me and reach out his hand to destroy me.’ He also attacks his friend: 6:14 “They say a person’s friend should be hind to him when he is in trouble, even if he stops fearing the Almighty.

 
 

He starts out chapter 7 with a comparison:

 
 

Job 7:1 (ESV)

Job Continues: My Life Has No Hope

“Has not man a hard service on earth,

and are not his days like the days of a hired hand?

 
 

 
 

And then he tells how he feels in comparison to this, to amplify that his suffering is so much greater:

Job 7:4–6 (ESV)

When I lie down I say, ‘When shall I arise?’

But the night is long,

and I am full of tossing till the dawn.

My flesh is clothed with worms and dirt;

my skin hardens, then breaks out afresh.

My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle

and come to their end without hope.

In the Bible Version New Century Version Job 7:11 says what he feels bluntly: ( I put both the NCV and the ESV for comparisons. I think it is wild how the ESV seems to have a grander value, a more powerful statement, but I love the way the NCV just kind of makes it simple.

 
 

Job 7:11 NCV

“So I will not stay quiet;

    I will speak out in the suffering of my spirit.

    I will complain because I am so unhappy.

New Century Version (NCV)

The Holy Bible, New Century Version®. Copyright © 2005 by Thomas Nelson, Inc.

Job 7:11 (ESV)
11  “Therefore I will not restrain my mouth;

I will speak in the anguish of my spirit;

I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.

 
 

The rest of the chapter 7 tomorrow and maybe more.

 
 

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

