Psalm 16.10

Here is a perfect example to have more than one translation of the Bible. I read the first one from ESV Study bible and for sure, was not sure what it was saying. But then I opened up my NCV version and it just reads like “wow, how did you not get this from the other version? It’s my lack of education and ignorance of the depth of what the original words mean.

 
 

That is why I do like reading a more word for word translation, it forces me to really contemplate the deeper meaning of the words; however, it sometimes means I totally miss what the words are trying to tell me.

 
 

If I was to quote one or the other, I would choose the ESV, it sounds so much more eloquent, poetic, with massive depth to the words. The other just says, don’t rot in the grave.

 
 

 
 

Psalm 16:10 (ESV)

10  For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol,

or let your holy one see corruption.

 
 

Psalm 16:10New Century Version (NCV)
10 because you will not leave me in the grave.
    You will not let your holy one rot.

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

