Job 14 – Job’s Reply

 

Sunday, February 19, 2017

My thoughts:  I cannot but feel for poor Job.  He feels and even described by God as a righteous man and had earned plenty during his life up to the conversation between God and Satan.  And then with one swipe, Job lost his personal wealth, the way to provide for himself and his family and in a second swipe, he lost his children, respect of his wife and friends along with his health.  So, I am not sure how I feel about Job’s position.  Would I complain as loudly as he has?  I know though, I would be as upset with my friends as he is with them for the attitudes and positions they have taken:

To me in the below verse, JOB is stating how worthless our lives are.  We simply grow up and then die, we do not add any additional value to life, to God, to anyone overall.  He then alludes to wanting to be out from under God’s anger in Job 14:13

Job 14:1-1 New Century Version (NCV)

14 “All of us born to women

live only a few days and have lots of trouble.

We grow up like flowers and then dry up and die.

We are like a passing shadow that does not last.

Job 14:13 New Century Version (NCV)

13 “I wish you would hide me in the grave;
hide me until your anger is gone.

Job becomes more dramatic with regards to his feelings when expressing the following in Job 14:19

Job 14:19 New Century Version (NCV)
19 Water washes over stones and wears them down,
and rushing waters wash away the dirt.
In the same way, you destroy hope.

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

