Job has a Point . . .

After the bashing Job took from Bildad, Job opens up with bashing of his own “You are no help to the helpless!”  Wow!  But, I understand, his friends, although as genuine as they are trying to be, seem to be more concerned about how Job is expressing himself about the grief he has gone through than the grief he is going through.

I like in Chapter 27, in the first 8 verses especially he commits himself not to say anything bad about God, hard to do when everything has been taken away and even his friends are condemning him.  He then turns the table on his friends, they are not the experts of God, he then tells them how God will handle the evil ones of earth.

After Chapter 27:13, I have some verses out of order, I did it on purpose because, well you read it and I think it will make sense.  Not changing the order or God’s word, just this is how I put it together and though it might help you too.  (if anyone reads this.)

In the midst of Chapter 28, Job still speaking, starts listing where all the precious elements of the earth are, they are hidden, on top of rock, in deep tunnels and even the proud animals cannot find them.  He almost is saying, wow, man has found all these rich wonderful things hidden in the earth, but yet YOU, maybe his friends, where can wisdom be found?  Apparently, they did not ring any with them, right?

Job 26 New Century Version (NCV)

Job Answers Bildad

26 Then Job answered:

“You are no help to the helpless!

You have not aided the weak!

Your advice lacks wisdom!

You have shown little understanding!

Who has helped you say these words?

And where did you get these ideas?

Job 27 New Century Version (NCV)

27 And Job continued speaking:

“As surely as God lives, who has taken away my rights,

the Almighty, who has made me unhappy,

as long as I am alive

and God’s breath of life is in my nose,

my lips will not speak evil,

and my tongue will not tell a lie.

I will never agree you are right;

until I die, I will never stop saying I am innocent.

I will insist that I am right; I will not back down.

My conscience will never bother me.

“Let my enemies be like evil people,

my foes like those who are wrong.

What hope do the wicked have when they die,

when God takes their life away?

11 “I will teach you about the power of God

and will not hide the ways of the Almighty.

12 You have all seen this yourselves.

So why are we having all this talk that means nothing?

13 “Here is what God has planned for evil people,

and what the Almighty will give to cruel people:

22 The wind will hit them without mercy

as they try to run away from its power.

23 It will be as if the wind is clapping its hands;

it will whistle at them as they run from their place.

19 The wicked are rich when they go to bed,

but they are rich for the last time;

when they open their eyes, everything is gone.

20 Fears come over them like a flood,

and a storm snatches them away in the night.

Job 28 New Century Version (NCV)

No hawk knows that path;

the falcon has not seen it.

Proud animals have not walked there,

and no lions cross over it.

Miners hit the rocks of flint

and dig away at the bottom of the mountains.

10 They cut tunnels through the rock

and see all the treasures there.

11 They search for places where rivers begin

and bring things hidden out into the light.

12 “But where can wisdom be found,

and where does understanding live?

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

