In the chapters 28, 29 an 30, Job seems to go through and array of logic and emotions.  He starts out wondering how wisdom is found, it seems to be a jab at his friends.  He then starts chapter 29 with rememberence of how he was once treated, then returns the a poor me mentality, with how people are treating him today and even wants God to take his final swing at him.

Job 28:18 (ESV)

18  No mention shall be made of coral or of crystal;
the price of wisdom is above pearls.

After all his rhetoric he then asks the question, my guess if it is not in all the places he just mentioned, then where could it be:

Job 28:20 (ESV)
20  “From where, then, does wisdom come?
And where is the place of understanding?
Job then a few verses later answers the proving question:

Job 28:28 (ESV)
28  And he said to man,
‘Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom,
and to turn away from evil is understanding.’ ”

This chapter starts out with in a way, Job reminiscing about how he USED to be, I found the following verse to be a good example of the way he was thinking:

Job 29:11–12 (ESV)
11  When the ear heard, it called me blessed,
and when the eye saw, it approved,
12  because I delivered the poor who cried for help,
and the fatherless who had none to help him.

He concludes Chapter 29 with the following verse, it seems as though he thought of himself quiet highly:

Job 29:25 (ESV)
25  I chose their way and sat as chief,
and I lived like a king among his troops,
like one who comforts mourners.

Job then begins Chapter 30 with how people are viewing and treating him now, during his discomfort, during his tragedy.  He seems to exaggerate in my opinion, but the poor guy has lost everything, even the respect of his friends.

Job 30:1 (ESV)
“But now they laugh at me,
men who are younger than I,
whose fathers I would have disdained
to set with the dogs of my flock.

Job 30:9–11 (ESV)
“And now I have become their song;
I am a byword to them.
10  They abhor me; they keep aloof from me;
they do not hesitate to spit at the sight of me.
11  Because God has loosed my cord and humbled me,
they have cast off restraint in my presence.
He then turns to God and defining what God has done to him:

Job 30:19 (ESV)
19  God has cast me into the mire,
and I have become like dust and ashes.

Job 30:21 (ESV)
21  You have turned cruel to me;
with the might of your hand you persecute me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

ChristDisciple

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

