Job:31 Ends this monologue –

Job continues to ask if he has done of these sinful deeds, he list one after the other, did he do this or that.  Where did he falter is what he wants to know, he wants them to point this out.  He gets near the end of his monologue and states, if he had done any of these, he would carry it on his shoulder and he could give God an account of himself.

Interestingly, chapter 32 I found there was a fourth person there with Job,  Elihu.  They say who his is, but he does not seem to be a relative of the men already there.  In my past readings of Job, I don’t remember the fourth, but his monologue starts out with a fire, he is angry both with Job and his friends.  I put in the first few verses below and like you, will be interested in learning what he has to say about the situation.

Job 31:33–34 (ESV)

33  if I have concealed my transgressions as others do
by hiding my iniquity in my heart,
34  because I stood in great fear of the multitude,
and the contempt of families terrified me,
so that I kept silence, and did not go out of doors—

Job 31:36–37 (ESV)

36  Surely I would carry it on my shoulder;
I would bind it on me as a crown;
37  I would give him an account of all my steps;
like a prince I would approach him.

Job 32:1–3 (ESV)
Elihu Rebukes Job’s Three Friends

32 So these three men ceased to answer Job, because he was righteous in his own eyes. Then Elihu the son of Barachel the Buzite, of the family of Ram, burned with anger. He burned with anger at Job because he justified himself rather than God. He burned with anger also at Job’s three friends because they had found no answer, although they had declared Job to be in the wrong.

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

