Elihu 33 Finishes Updating Job

Job 33:14–18 (ESV)

14  For God speaks in one way,
and in two, though man does not perceive it.
15  In a dream, in a vision of the night,
when deep sleep falls on men,
while they slumber on their beds,
16  then he opens the ears of men
and terrifies them with warnings,
17  that he may turn man aside from his deed
and conceal pride from a man;
18  he keeps back his soul from the pit,
his life from perishing by the sword.

Elihu tells Job how God has redeemed his soul from death, but in the next line, he seems to say, God does these things, put people through trials and tribulations, not just once, but three times to bring the man closer to Him, to God.

I almost had to laugh, because Elihu, tells Job twice to listen to him, then states, do you have any words for me then answer me.  It seemed counter to the other, but it put a smile on my face.  Elihu, ends this dialogue in this chapter here.

Job 33:28–33 (ESV)

28  He has redeemed my soul from going down into the pit,
and my life shall look upon the light.’
29  “Behold, God does all these things,
twice, three times, with a man,
30  to bring back his soul from the pit,
that he may be lighted with the light of life.
31  Pay attention, O Job, listen to me;
be silent, and I will speak.
32  If you have any words, answer me;
speak, for I desire to justify you.
33  If not, listen to me;
be silent, and I will teach you wisdom.”

Published by

ChristDisciple

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

