He Will Not Forsake His Saints

Psalm 37


I really enjoy reading Psalm and Proverbs to start my day, great quick verses of good thinking and wisdom and reminders.  Not every day do they hit all my cylinders, but today Psalm 37 did.  Today, the devil was getting to me, my anxiety went way up and my patience waiting for the Lord went almost to zero, then I read Psalm 37 and all of a sudden, I was ok again.

The theme of Psalm 37 was “He Will Not Forsake His Saints”, my first question, is who are his saints, am I one.  Is a saint like a disciple, is it one who believes him, who want to be a vessel to help Him carryout his Kingdom Come on Earth as it is in Heaven?  I truly hope so, because that is how I interpreted the word saints.

Wait, before you go, I have to tell you how Psalm 37 hit all cylinders today.  I guess I was/am feeling a bit more down than other days. I decided to write in my journal about how I was feeling.  I state that it seemed as though I could not make the right decision.  My decisions are always made with the right and best intentions, but it seems like I always misread something and even though, cannot go back and change my decision.  I was asking God about this, I was afraid I would not understand his directions to me, I would again make the wrong decision and keep me into his illustrious spot I have found myself by not following God’s directives.

Then it hit me, why was I making any decisions at all?  And doesn’t God know I’ve been trying to make the decisions about the course of my life, my situation is someplace he knew I would go/be.  So, here I am getting in the way of God’s plan afraid to make a decision I need not to worry about, I’ve put that into God’s hands – again.

Well, in Psalm 37 it just reminded me several times to put my trust in Him and reminded me to be still, and not to fret about the success of others while I wait, for God Will Not Forsake His Saints.  I found the words comforting, I hope you do to.

Psalm 37:1–5 (ESV)

Fret not yourself because of evildoers;
be not envious of wrongdoers!
For they will soon fade like the grass
and wither like the green herb.
Trust in the Lord, and do good;
dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.

Psalm 37:7-8 (ESV)

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;
fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way,
over the man who carries out evil devices!
Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath!
Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil.

Psalm 37:12–15 (ESV)

12  The wicked plots against the righteous
and gnashes his teeth at him,
13  but the Lord laughs at the wicked,
for he sees that his day is coming.
14  The wicked draw the sword and bend their bows
to bring down the poor and needy,
to slay those whose way is upright;
15  their sword shall enter their own heart,
and their bows shall be broken.

Psalm 37:23 (ESV)

23  The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
when he delights in his way;

Psalm 37:25 (ESV)

25  I have been young, and now am old,
yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
or his children begging for bread.

Psalm 37:30 (ESV)

30  The mouth of the righteous utters wisdom,
and his tongue speaks justice.

Psalm 37:34 (ESV)

34  Wait for the Lord and keep his way,
and he will exalt you to inherit the land;
you will look on when the wicked are cut off.

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

One thought on “He Will Not Forsake His Saints”

Leave a Reply

