The Blessings of Wisdom

Proverbs 8


 

When I read this Proverb, some of the verses made no sense to me.  It occurred to me, this is not a person’s perspetive being written, it is the perception of wisdom.  Keep that in mind while reading and see if it makes more sense to you.

Proverbs 8:1–4 (ESV)

1 Does not wisdom call?
Does not understanding raise her voice?
On the heights beside the way,
at the crossroads she takes her stand;
beside the gates in front of the town,
at the entrance of the portals she cries aloud:
“To you, O men, I call,
and my cry is to the children of man. <– This is wisdom calling to us.

Proverbs 8:10–11 (ESV)

10  Take my instruction instead of silver,
and knowledge rather than choice gold,
11  for wisdom is better than jewels,
and all that you may desire cannot compare with her.

Proverbs 8:13 (ESV)

13  The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil.
Pride and arrogance and the way of evil
and perverted speech I hate.

Proverbs 8:17 (ESV)

17  I love those who love me,]
and those who seek me diligently find me. [I thought this was Go talking and he loved                                                                                       us first, but it is wisdome, he loves those                                                                                          that love wisdom]

Proverbs 8:22 (ESV)

22  “The Lord possessed me at the beginning of his work,
the first of his acts of old.

Proverbs 8:33–36 (ESV)

33  Hear instruction and be wise,
and do not neglect it.
34  Blessed is the one who listens to me,
watching daily at my gates,
waiting beside my doors.
35  For whoever finds me finds life
and obtains favor from the Lord,
36  but he who fails to find me injures himself;
all who hate me love death.”

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

