My Word for the Week – Forgive(ness)

I have chosen Forgive(ness) as my world for the week, something I feel I need to work on.  Thus, my posts will have this word in them.  I will also add what the verse means to me, what is my interpertation.

Genesis 50:17 (NIV)

17 ‘This is what you are to say to Joseph: I ask you to forgive your brothers the sins and the wrongs they committed in treating you so badly.’ Now please forgive the sins of the servants of the God of your father.” When their message came to him, Joseph wept.

This was done when Joseph’s dad was close to death and Jacob wanted to make sure there was no strife between his sons.  I believe Jacob realized, it was God’s plan which brought Joseph to the position and place he was – a place he could save his family.

For me, this is one of the toughest forgiveness.  Forgiving people because of the “evil” they did provided a benefit to me.  Thus, I am to thank the very person who wanted to destroy me for their effort do do so.

I guess it’s not much different, as I think about it, than competition in a sport.  We are glad to have tough competition, we really don’t get mad at them regardless of the outcome, but if they did not try and beat us, then we would not be betteri either.  But it is hard to reward evil, isn’t it?

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

