Forgive VS Pardon – and more . . .

First things first.  When I looked up the word forgive in my software version of the Bible, I have two versions, NIV and ESV, I just found that the ESV does not use the word forgive, it used the word pardon.  The ESV is said to be a word for word translation, I find the use of the two different words interesting in itself.  What is the difference between pardon and forgive?

Pardon: the excusing of an offense without exacting a penalty
Forgive: to give up resentment of or claim to requital (see requital 1) for forgive an insult :  to grant relief from payment of
The difference to me between the two words is the emotional part.  Forgive not only does not hold the action against you, meaning expecting a payment a payback, but also eliminates any emotional hostility, anger, bitterness that goes with it.  A pardon simply means, you sinned, I won’t hold the act against you, forgive means, I am emotionally disconnected from your act as well, I will not bring it up again when I want to use it against you for my benefit.

Exodus 23:20–26 (NIV)

God’s Angel to Prepare the Way

20 “See, I am sending an angel ahead of you to guard you along the way and to bring you to the place I have prepared. 21 Pay attention to him and listen to what he says. Do not rebel against him; he will not forgive your rebellion, since my Name is in him. 22 If you listen carefully to what he says and do all that I say, I will be an enemy to your enemies and will oppose those who oppose you. 23 My angel will go ahead of you and bring you into the land of the Amorites, Hittites, Perizzites, Canaanites, Hivites and Jebusites, and I will wipe them out. 24 Do not bow down before their gods or worship them or follow their practices. You must demolish them and break their sacred stones to pieces. 25 Worship the Lord your God, and his blessing will be on your food and water. I will take away sickness from among you, 26 and none will miscarry or be barren in your land. I will give you a full life span.

Commentary:  This makes me think, the statement Exodus 23:22 If you listen carefully to what he says and do all that I say, I will be an enemy to your enemies and will oppose those who oppose you. Is that truly us being a Christin is supposed to be, thus God’s commitment to us as he asks of us our commitment.  The difference, today, is God does forgive us and thank God for that.  If you do all that I say, God says in Exodus 23:22, isn’t that right on the verge of being perfect?

The quote made me think, am I doing all that God says?  How much of it am I doing and why?  Maybe I will make a list and start working on checking off the things I am doing which is not of God asking me to do.

 

God Bless,

Leland

 

 

Published by

riproarghol

Disiple of Chist

Leave a Reply

