Are you secure . . .?

I hear a lot from preachers about the need, if not the requirement to study our Bible every day, go to Church not just Sunday, but Wednesday also. Almost to the point that I feel we are challenged if we are even a Christian if we don’t read our Bible everyday and go to Church at least twice a week.

I am not against reading the Bible everyday nor attending Church as often as possible, but I do wonder about the “need” to be in the Bible all the time.

I believe it really depends on the person. Let me ask you this question, does your dog love you less if you leave for a while? If someone in your family, you don’t see for a long time, do you stop loving them?

I’ve lost my mom; I still miss her and love her very much. I would be so excited to see her again, I cannot wait. Much of what I learned growing up I still use and pass on to my kids or others in my life.

Let me throw this at you too. I am an instructor, I have taught many, many adults how to use their computer and their software more effective. One thing I learned as an instructor, is regardless of how much I studied, or how well I thought I knew the material, I never knew it that well until after I taught it the first time.

My point is to ask ourselves. If your Bible was taken from you, the internet was down, for some reason where you are there was no Church. Would you stay strong in the faith you have today or do you see yourself drifting back in the flow of society?

My question is how deep your faith is. Can you go a week, a month, a year without reading the Bible or attending church and keep your faith, your belief?

The reason I am asking this is because: 1) Many of our forefathers, the Christians that kept Christianity alive relied on their deep seeded faith to carry them through. They did not have Bibles, Church, Pastors, Social Media to constantly remind them of their savior Jesus Christ. 2) Have we become too dependent on all of this input to “remind” us of our faith.

I know there is argument whether Christians will be involved in the tribulation. For some reason, I think so. If your faith has not been tested and is not engrained into every aspect of your living. If you revert back to your “normal” self on the way out of the Church parking lot. I don’t believe we have Jesus so engrained in our hearts. It’s not that we need more, we need it more intensely. As I mentioned, as much time as I spent preparing to teach a course, as well as I knew it, I never knew it better then after I was tested and that test was teaching it in front of 15 – 30 strangers.

We need to test ourselves. We need to have our loved ones challenge us, we need to stand up and out in the crowd as Christians. We have to be the one in the middle of the river standing firm against the current. When others see us standing strong, they will too. God Bless You.

 

6 responses to “Are you secure . . .?”

  1. […] via Are you secure . . .? — Rip-Roar Get High On Life […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s a heart issue. We should have a deep desire, a longing to know God deeper and more intimately. That should draw us to learn more about him through scripture and through other believers. If we are motivated to read the Bible and go to church because someone guilts us into it, that is not the basis for a deep and meaningful relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely, but how do you know. Sometimes we don’t know how independent or dependant we are until we are on our own.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Christ disciple, good mornin.

    You wrote a thought provoking article that I enjoyed.
    And I’ll give you my thoughts about this matter.

    I love soaking in the word daily, I typically get up 2 hours before I would otherwise have to to spend time in the word, and reading/interacting online about Christianity. It’s the best part of my day for sure.

    But if I didn’t have that, I would still be zealous for the Lord, because it is the indwelling Spirit that motivates me, (not my will), and He ain’t going nowhere.

    So I hope that has been of use to someone.

    All glory to the risen Lord Jesus Christ.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I believe that is how it’s meant to be. God Bless you! Thankful to have you as a friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I’m thankful to have you for my friend too 🤠

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.