Just an observational thought out-loud

This I believe will get me into trouble with you, but it’s something I have wanted to touch on for some time.

The challenge is, I actually go to church, not specifically, but a reason to see the nicely attractively dressed woman. It really did not occur to me, that what I was saying, is that the woman I was liking the dress of, were actually dressed a little more sexy than it seemed appropriate for the environment. Who am I to offer any observation on this at all. Just a dad of three daughters, a dad that knows what goes through the mind of men, a man who believe we should be as conservative as possible when we are among our Lord and Savior.

So, guy, what do you think is too sexy. I’ll answer you, thanks for asking. Anything too tight, things that accentuate your body. Thins which expose cleavage, mid section or even shorts which are really designed for the park, football field or night out. Form fitting clothing such as leggings – even with a shirt over the butt or pants so tight.

I am a man, I guess of little self-control, when I see a woman in clothing which fits some of the above, I tend to look. I admit, I am being selfish here, but when I go to church, I really don’t want to be distracted by a woman wearing flashy clothing. Yes I could ignore, but it’s a little like saying you don’t notice the smell of the chocolate chip cookies in the oven.

I feel that somehow, somewhere woman get a free pass on the dress code. I just wrote an article Yoga Pants talking about how it seems these skin fitting pants have popped up everywhere and have been accepted as a common place attire for woman – even though they outline their lower half’s many times to the point it’s just a different skin color.

So, am I saying, change your dress of because I feel the clothing some woman wear is more seductive than I personally would prefer. Well, I am a guy a man and I don’t think I am too far from the average man, if not right in the middle. I know, when I take my family to church, I want them concentrating on God, not on who is looking at them and why. For even Jesus states:

Luke 17:1-4 NASB
He said to His disciples, “It is inevitable that stumbling blocks come, but woe to him through whom they come! [2] It would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck and he were thrown into the sea, than that he would cause one of these little ones to stumble. [3] Be on your guard! If your brother sins, rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him. [4] And if he sins against you seven times a day, and returns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ forgive him.”

And remember the Lord’s prayer:

Matthew 6:13 ESV
And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

And Paul proclaimed:

1 Corinthians 8:11-13 ESV
And so by your knowledge this weak person is destroyed, the brother for whom Christ died. [12] Thus, sinning against your brothers and wounding their conscience when it is weak, you sin against Christ. [13] Therefore, if food makes my brother stumble, I will never eat meat, lest I make my brother stumble.

I am just suggesting, Church is not the time to put ourselves on display, it’s the small hour or so, we get to put our Lord and Savior on display and praise and worship him with all our hearts, minds, souls and strength – and attention 🙂 God Bless – just thoughts.

link to similar post

14 responses to “Just an observational thought out-loud”

  1. Thanks for your like of my post, “The Red Heifer;” you are very kind.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your like of my post, “Feast Of Tabernacles;” you are very kind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kindness.

      Like

      1. God Bless you, thank you for your attention and follow. Look forward to sharing even more with each other.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You are very welcome.

          Like

    2. God Bless, you are very welcome!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. May Christ, our Lord, richly bless you.

        Like

  3. A subject more Christians should be thinking about. In 1 Timothy 2:9-10, Paul tells Timothy, “…women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control, not with braided hair and gold or pearls or costly attire, but with what is proper for women who profess godliness—with good works.” As a Christian woman, I personally believe in dressing respectably at all times–I am not of the world so do not wish to look like I am–especially when I come into the presence of the Lord at Church to worship Him on the Sabbath. This subject can apply to men as well as women, but women seem to be the worst offenders and the least considerate of their brothers in Christ in helping them to sin not. Sadly too many in the body of Christ today seem like they prefer the broad road than the narrow way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the verses, I am going too add them to the blog. God Bless

      Like

  4. I concur , Church is not meant to be a meat market. If everyone knew that, I’m sure it would come as a form of relief.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone does know that, I believe. I understand wanting to look nice at Church, but it’s not the place to display ourselves, it the place to worship God, thus leaving the secular self at home. We are bringing into the church the secular self via our clothing which does reflect who we are. Church she be gone to with a humbling heart. God Bless.

      Like

  5. Dear brother in Christ,
    Grace, blessings, and peace in our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ!
    It is a conundrum, no?
    Do we cover women of society under full burqa, because of our mens fallen nature?
    Praise be to Jesus!
    When He operates on our heart, and liberates us from the bondage we are in!
    When we raise up our children in Him.
    He is faithful and true!
    Thank you for sharing your thought out loud.
    We know what the Word says, about Churches of Christ and woman’s dress and modesty.
    Remember He burdens us with nothing He does not provide an escape from.
    As I remove the beam from my eye, one day I may have a more encouraging word. But Rest in Jesus.
    Remember the miracle He performed with the woman caught in adultery!
    Here is ancient rabbis thoughts I read earlier today on mens head covering… fun to see how bringing up young men in God can subside some problems!
    From The William Davidson Talmud
    TALMUD
    Kiddushin
    Daf 29b
    “…
    § With regard to marriage, the Gemara relates: Rav Ḥisda would praise Rav Hamnuna to Rav Huna by saying that he is a great man.
    Rav Huna said to him: When he comes to you, send him to me.
    When Rav Hamnuna came before him, Rav Huna saw that he did not cover his head with a cloth, as Torah scholars did.
    Rav Huna said to him: What is the reason that you do not cover your head with a cloth?
    Rav Hamnuna said to him: The reason is that I am not married, and it was not customary for unmarried men to cover their heads with a cloth.
    Rav Huna turned his face away from him in rebuke, and he said to him: See to it that you do not see my face until you marry.
    The Gemara notes: Rav Huna conforms to his standard line of reasoning, as he says: If one is twenty years old and has not yet married a woman, all of his days will be in a state of sin concerning sexual matters.
    The Gemara asks: Can it enter your mind that he will be in a state of sin all of his days?
    Rather, say that this means the following: All of his days will be in a state of thoughts of sin, i.e., sexual thoughts.
    One who does not marry in his youth will become accustomed to thoughts of sexual matters, and the habit will remain with him the rest of his life.
    Rava said, and similarly, the school of Rabbi Yishmael taught: Until one reaches the age of twenty years the Holy One, Blessed be He, sits and waits for a man, saying: When will he marry a woman.
    Once he reaches the age of twenty and has not married, He says: Let his bones swell, i.e., he is cursed and God is no longer concerned about him.
    Rav Ḥisda said: The fact that I am superior to my colleagues is because I married at the age of sixteen, and if I would have married at the age of fourteen,…”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for sharing your wisdom. God Bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.